Learned a lot from his bowling Zaman Khan reveals his childhood hero

‘Learned a lot from his bowling’ Zaman Khan reveals his childhood hero

LAHORE: Young pacer Zaman Khan has named Lasith Malinga as his bowling inspiration, saying he has been watching the Sri Lankan legend since childhood and has learned a lot from the fierce speedster.

Zaman, who has an unorthodox sling bowling style like Malinga, said he had been watching the Sri Lankan bowler since he was very young and observed his bowling action very closely.

“I used to watch Lastith Malinga, because my action is similar to his, and I have learned a lot by observing him,” he said in a media talk at Gaddafi Stadium after the team’s training camp on Sunday.

“I grew up watching Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Akhtar and always had this wish to represent my country like them, which has come true now.”

“My aim is to perform well for Pakistan for as long as I play and make the country proud. Whenever I get the opportunity, I will try to give my 100 per cent and win the match for Pakistan,” he added.

Zaman shot to fame because of his economical bowling in crunch moments of the game and became a final-over specialist for champions Lahore Qalanadats in the Pakistan Super League season 8, that too in the presence of Haris Rauf and Shaheen Afridi.

“It takes a lot of hard work and net practice to bowl the final over (in the match)” he added.

Moreover, he expressed his gratitude towards Qalandars’ captain Shaheen, saying, “He has been guiding me on everything and since I came under his wings, I have learned a lot.”.

For the forthcoming home assignment against New Zealand, the 21-year-old has been retained in Pakistan’s T20I squad from the Afghanistan series in Sharjah, his maiden call-up to the national side.

It may be noted here that Pakistan will take on the visitors in five T20Is and as many ODIs across three venues from 14 April to 7 May.


T20I: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood and Zaman Khan.

ODI: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Ihsanullah, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood and Usama Mir.

Complete Pakistan v New Zealand schedule:

14 Apr – 1st T20I, Lahore
15 Apr – 2nd T20I, Lahore
17 Apr – 3rd T20I, Lahore
20 Apr – 4th T20I, Rawalpindi
24 Apr – 5th T20I, Rawalpindi
26 Apr – 1st ODI, Rawalpindi
30 Apr – 2nd ODI, Rawalpindi
3 May – 3rd ODI, Karachi
5 May – 4th ODI, Karachi
7 May – 5th ODI, Karachi